You don’t know what you don’t know.

So, recently I was told to take over running the social media business at work.  Now, as a former banker of 20+ years who only recently….within the last 3 years…..dove into social media, this was a bit daunting and overwhelming.  First order of business:  “create some video that we can market to potential clients.”  Seriously?  Other than the video camera function on my phone, I had never even used a video camera.  But there I was, at the ripe old age of 48 fumbling through and teaching myself not only HOW to use a video camera – but also, uploading and EDITING video.  I created some pretty good video, if I say so myself…and it was fun!  As a detail-oriented Virgo…I probably spent a little more time editing down to the second but I was determined to produce a nice product.  Well, the other day I got some “critique” about some footage I shot that was less than perfect: if you need help, ask for it.  Hmmm…how do I ask for help if I don’t know I need help?  You don’t know what you don’t know.

Leave a Reply

