Time to take it all in.

A few significant moments have occurred this week that I have to recognize.  If nothing else, they force me to take pause.  The death of a woman I knew that was too soon and unexpected.  It’s significance to me is that she was the dear friend of a dear friend of mine.  I hadn’t talked to my friend in months, for a litany of reasons of which none I am proud.  But I talked to her last night and of course, we cried and just hearing her voice made me happier.

A friend at work knew a young man who was fighting in Afghanistan and died in battle.  He had just recently gotten to meet his baby daughter for the first time via Skype.  She came early.  If she hadn’t come early, her father would have never seen her face.

Steve Jobs died yesterday.  He was not only brilliant, he was a visionary.  To me, he embodied everything that is right about American ingenuity and excellence.  His story can only be told in this country.  The one quote that keeps flying around the social media sites is one of my favorites:

“Your time is limited so, don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t let the opinions of others drown out your own inner voice. And most important, to follow your heart and intuition. Somehow, already know what you want to become. Everything else is secondary.” -Steve Jobs

Words to live by.  I will be taking time this weekend to take it all in.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dinie
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 17:45:20

    i’m with you honey. Spend your time wisely, doing what you love with people you love. If those two things aren’t at play…find new people to surround yourself with and find something else to do with your time! Sorry to hear about your friend.

    xo
    D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

